Looking for the Access to
Justice Research Network
(AJRN)? Click here


Trevor C.W. Farrow, PhD

Chair of the Board

Trevor C.W. Farrow, AB (Princeton), BA/MA (Oxford), LLB (Dalhousie), LLM (Harvard), PhD (Alberta), is the Associate Dean and a Professor at Osgoode Hall Law School and Principal Investigator of the SSHRC funded “Cost of Justice” CURA project. He is also the Academic Director of the Winkler Institute for Dispute Resolution. Professor Farrow’s teaching and research focus on the administration of civil justice, including legal process, legal and judicial ethics, advocacy, globalization and development. He was formerly a litigation lawyer at the Torys law firm in Toronto. Professor Farrow has received teaching awards at Harvard University and Osgoode Hall Law School.

Email: tfarrow@osgoode.yorku.ca

Lisa Moore

Director, Research & Operations

Lisa holds degrees in English Literature, Spanish, French and Marketing from universities in Canada and the U.S. She brings to the CFCJ several years of experience in administration, communications and social media marketing. Prior to joining the CFCJ, Lisa volunteered for several international organizations, including Global Action on Aging and El Patronato Nacional de la Infancia.

Email: lmoore@cfcj-fcjc.org

Nicole Aylwin, MA, ABD

Senior Research Fellow

Nicole Aylwin is the Assistant Director of the Winkler Institute for Dispute Resolution at Osgoode Hall Law School, a justice innovation hub dedicated to improving access to justice and the Assistant Director of Research at Osgoode Hall. Nicole is the former Executive Director of the Canadian Forum on Civil Justice and currently works as a Research Fellow and Management Consultant at the Forum. She frequently speaks and writes on the topics of innovation in the justice sector, civil justice reform and access to justice. She has taught previously at York University, Wilfrid Laurier University and the University of Ontario Institute of Technology. Her areas of research include social innovation and access to justice, access to justice in Indigenous communities, cultural rights, cultural divesity and policy making.

Email: naylwin@cfcj-fcjc.org

Ab Currie, PhD

Senior Research Fellow

Ab Currie holds a Ph.D. in Sociology from the University of Toronto. He has been conducting policy research on legal aid and other access to justice issues for more than 25 years and has authored about 50 reports, articles and book chapters on access to justice topics. He carried out extensive research on unmet needs for legal aid. He has also conducted extensive research on the incidence and patterns of justiciable problems and on unmet need for access to justice services in civil matters.

Email: abcurrie@sympatico.ca

Lesley Jacobs, PhD

Senior Research Fellow

Lesley Jacobs is a Professor of Law & Society and Political Science at York University in Toronto, a Senior Research Fellow at the Canadian Forum on Civil Justice and Co-Director of the SSHRC funded Cost of Justice project. He completed his BA and MA at the University of Western Ontario and his D.Phil. in Politics at Oxford University. He has held a range of distinguished visiting appointment at other universities including the Harvard Law School, Oxford Centre for Socio-Legal Studies, Law Commission of Canada, the University of California, Berkeley, University of Toronto, University of British Columbia, Emory University, and Waseda Law School in Tokyo. His research interests include comparative public; empirical social-legal research; courts and social policy; health and human rights; intersections between international human rights and trade law; and theoretical work on social justice.

Email: jacobs@yorku.ca

Jennifer Leitch, PhD

Senior Research Fellow

Jennifer Leitch BA (Dalhousie University), JD (Schulich School of Law), LLM (Osgoode Hall Law School), PhD (Osgoode Hall Law School) is an adjunct professor at University of Toronto Law School and Osgoode Hall Law School. She was formerly a litigation lawyer at Goodmans LLP in Toronto. Jennifer’s research focuses on access to justice, democracy and self-represented litigants.